West Virginia School of Medicine Names David Watson, MD Interim Chair

organizationName   5841 Cedar Lake Rd., Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416
(952) 545-6724

From the President of the AUPN

Effective April 1st, David Watson, M.D., assumed the role of interim chair in the Department of Neurology at the West Virginia School of Medicine.  Dr. Watson earned his medical degree from the WVU School of Medicine, and completed a residency in Neurology and a fellowship in headache medicine at the University of North Carolina. Dr. Watson also serves as the director of the WVU Headache Center and as director of the student clerkship in Neurology. Dr. Watson replaces John Brick, M.D. who will now work to implement a large scale, collaborative outreach effort to improve health and education in southern West Virginia. 

In a statement by Clay Marsh, MD, WVU Vice President and Executive Dean for Health Sciences, Dr. Watson started his career at West Virginia University

and has dedicated his professional life to improving the health of their patients and teaching the next generation of doctors.  According to Clay Marsh, MD, WVU Vice President and Executive Dean for Health Sciences,

A national search will commence later this summer seeking a permanent replacement. 

Karen C. Johnston, MD, MSc
President AUPN

If you have news that you want to share with members of the
Association for University Professors of Neurology, please send it to us at

To opt out of AUPN emails, contact the AUPN Executive Office at

2016 Association of University Professors of Neurology



5841 Cedar Lake Road, Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416 • USA