Larry B. Goldstein, MD, FANA, FAHA, FAAN, is Professor and Chair, Department of Neurology, Associate Dean for Clinical Research, Co-Director of the Kentucky Neuroscience Institute, Co-Director of the UK Neuroscience Research Priority Area, and Interim Director of the UK-Norton Healthcare Stroke Care Network at the University of Kentucky. Goldstein received his BA in 1977 from Brandeis University and MD from Mount Sinai School of Medicine in 1981. His subsequent professional training included an internship and neurology residency at Mount Sinai Medical Center (1981-1985) and a research fellowship in cerebrovascular disease at Duke University (1985-1987). Goldstein advanced at Duke to the rank of Professor of Neurology and Director of the Duke Stroke Center until moving to the University of Kentucky in 2015.

Goldstein's clinical and scholarly work focuses on stroke and related disorders. He has published over 840 peer review journal articles, reviews, editorials, book chapters, abstracts, and other professional papers. His research spans stroke-related laboratory-based studies, clinical trials, quality of care and care delivery studies, as well as clinical effectiveness and epidemiological investigations. He serves as a reviewer for multiple professional journals as well as national and international granting agencies. He is a member of the editorial boards of Stroke®, Cerebrovascular Diseases, the Journal of Stroke and Cerebrovascular Diseases, and Cardiology Today. He has chaired or been a member of several national guideline writing committees. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the American Academy of Neurology, serves as the contact PI for the CDC Coverdell National Acute Stroke Program in Kentucky, and is the Co-Chair for Stroke for the Kentucky Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force.

Goldstein received the AAN's G. Milton Shy Award (1979) and numerous other national and state awards. He was awarded the Order of the Long Leaf Pine, North Carolina's highest civilian honor, by the governor in 2015 for his service to the state related to improving stroke care.