Dr. William T Dauer selected as inaugural director of UT Southwestern & ABPN Quarterly Update

organizationName   5841 Cedar Lake Rd., Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416
(952) 545-6724

From the President of the AUPN

William T. Dauer, M.D., a neurologist acclaimed for his research into dystonia and Parkinson’s disease, has been selected as the first Director of the Peter O’Donnell Jr. Brain Institute at UT Southwestern Medical Center. He will begin his new position July 1.

Dr. Dauer currently serves as Director of the Movement Disorders Group and Director of the Morris K. Udall Center of Excellence for Parkinson’s Disease Research at the University of Michigan, where he is also the Elinor Levine Professor of Neurology and a Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology.

“Dr. Dauer’s broad experience as a neurologist and a scientist positions him to provide strong leadership as the Peter O’Donnell Jr. Brain Institute works to accelerate the translation of fundamental discoveries into cutting-edge treatments for a broad spectrum of brain disorders,” said Dr. W. P. Andrew Lee, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Provost and Dean of UT Southwestern Medical School.    

Established in 2015 with a gift from the O’Donnell Foundation, the Peter O’Donnell Jr. Brain Institute brings together doctors and researchers from various disciplines including neurology, neuroscience, neurological surgery, physical medicine and rehabilitation, and psychiatry to better understand the molecular workings of the brain and apply those discoveries to the prevention and treatment of brain, spine, nerve and muscle disorders.

“The personal and societal burden of neurological and psychiatric disease is great and increasing. The Peter O’Donnell Jr. Brain Institute represents the bold and visionary commitment of UT Southwestern President Dr. Daniel K. Podolsky and the medical center’s leadership to tackle the challenge of improving the lives of individuals with brain disease,” Dr. Dauer said. “The success of the Institute is uniquely possible at UT Southwestern because of its world-leading scientific culture and unprecedented institutional commitment to brain science and clinical care. I am extraordinarily honored and excited to direct the Institute and to join the remarkable UT Southwestern community.”

At UT Southwestern, Dr. Dauer will hold the Lois C.A. and Darwin E. Smith Distinguished Chair in Neurological Mobility Research, and he will serve as Professor of Neurology and Neurotherapeutics.

Click here for additional information

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Dauer in his new role.

ABPN Quarterly Update

The March 2019 ABPN Quarterly Update is available for review. Please click here to view the Quarterly Update. For questions email questions@abpn.com.

Robin Brey, MD
AUPN President 

The following organizations are seeking to fill the following leadership position(s):


Opt out of AUPN emails

2019 Association of University Professors of Neurology

image widget