Cathy Sila, MD, named chair at the University Hospitals Cleveland Medical Center & ABPN Announces 2019 BOD

organizationName   5841 Cedar Lake Rd., Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416
(952) 545-6724

From the President of the AUPN

Dr. Cathy Sila is the Gilbert W. Humphrey Professor of Neurology at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine and has served as the Vice Chair for Clinical Activities and Quality since 2014. She is the Director of the Comprehensive Stroke Center at UH Cleveland Medical Center and UH System Stroke Program, which was recognized as a model of system integration for care delivery.

“She is a recognized expert in prevention and treatment of stroke, neurologic complications of heart disease and defining outcomes for clinical trials,” said Daniel I. Simon, MD, President of UH Medical Centers.  “As the first woman to chair the Department of Neurology at UH, her priorities include ensuring access to innovative, high-value care integrated throughout the health system, supporting the provider-patient relationship and experience, training the next generation through the many fellowships and second-largest neurology residency program in the country, and promoting research that improves the quality of life for patients with neurologic diseases.”

Dr. Sila earned her medical degree at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine. She completed residencies in medicine and neurology at Cleveland Clinic and Mayo Graduate School of Medicine and a fellowship in Cerebrovascular Research at Cleveland Clinic. She is a Hedwig van Ameringen Fellow of the Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine Program and a Professor of Neurology at the School of Medicine.

Dr. Sila has received numerous honors, including the UH Distinguished Senior Attending Physician and awards from the American Heart Association National Stroke Council, YWCA Women of Professional Excellence and Crain’s Cleveland Business Healthcare Hero. She is consistently named among America’s Top Doctors by Castle-Connelly and is one of their Exceptional Women in Medicine.

Click here for additional information

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Sila in her new role.

ABPN Announces its 2019 Board of Directors

The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc. (ABPN) has announced its 2019 Board of Directors. The board’s term runs from January through December 2019. 

J. Clay Goodman, MD has been elected as Chair and Robert N. Golden, MD has been elected as Vice Chair. Newly elected to the ABPN 2019 Board of Directors are Terrence L. Cascino, MD and Andrea G. Stolar, MD.

In addition to Dr. Goodman, the 2019 ABPN Neurology Directors include:
• Imran I. Ali, MD
• John B. Bodensteiner, MD
• Allison Brashear, MD, MBA
• Amy Brooks-Kayal, MD
• Terrence L. Cascino, MD
• Steven L. Lewis, MD
• Nina F. Schor, MD, PhD

In addition to Dr. Golden, the 2019 ABPN Psychiatry Directors include:
• Joan M. Anzia, MD
• Robert J. Boland, MD
• Josepha A. Cheong, MD
• Paramjit T. Joshi, MD
• Jeffrey M. Lyness, MD
• Andrea G. Stolar, MD
• Christopher R. Thomas, MD

Additional information can be found here.

Robin Brey, MD
AUPN President 

The following organizations are seeking to fill the following leadership position(s):



Opt out of AUPN emails

2019 Association of University Professors of Neurology

image widget