UNMC Receives Largest Grant in its History/The A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute seeks nominations for Taubman Prize

organizationName   5841 Cedar Lake Rd., Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416
(952) 545-6724

From the President of the AUPN


UNMC Receives Largest Grant in its History

A team of University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC) researchers headed by Matthew Rizzo, M.D., professor and chair of the department of neurological sciences, has landed the largest grant in their history-- a five-year research grant from the National Institutes of Health totaling nearly $20 million.

Funding is provided through the Institutional Development Award (IDeA) program and the NIH's National Institute of General Medical Studies. It will focus on developing early career researchers into independent scientists and increasing the infrastructure and other resources needed to support clinical/translational research (CTR) around the region.

The grant will create the Great Plains IDeA-CTR Network, a collaboration involving nine institutions in four states -- Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Kansas.

Please join us in congratulating Dr. Rizzo and the UNMC team.

Click here to read the full article

A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute seeks nominations for Taubman Prize

The A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute at the University of Michigan is seeking nominations for the sixth annual $100,000 Taubman Prize for Translational Medical Science. The fifth annual prize was awarded to Suzanne L. Topalian of Johns Hopkins and Jedd D. Wolchok of Cornell, for their pioneering work in immunotherapy.  The Taubman Prize was established in 2012 to recognize clinician-scientists making significant progress toward translating basic research findings into medical practice. In addition to the monetary award, the recipient is asked to serve as the keynote speaker at the Taubman Institute annual symposium, which in 2017 will be held on October 27 in Ann Arbor. 

If you have someone you would like to nominate, the deadline for entries for next year’s award is Feb. 1, 2017. Details and a nomination form can be found at:

Don't forget to renew your (institutional) 2017 AUPN membership!

  1. Log in to your AUPN account at 
    **Please note you must login under your institution, NOT under your name.**
     If you have forgotten your username and password, use the "Forgot Login Information" link.

  2. Hover over "Membership Information" (left hand menu)

  3. Click on “Renew Your Membership"

If you wish to pay with a check or purchase order, simply print a copy of the invoice and return by mail to:

5841 Cedar Lake Road, Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416

If you have questions or require a more detailed or personalized invoice, please contact the AUPN office by email ( or phone (952-545-6724).

Karen C. Johnston, MD, MSc
President AUPN 

If you have news that you want to share with members of the
Association for University Professors of Neurology, please send it to us at

If you have a current job posting you would like listed on the AUPN website,
please complete the Job Listing Form and submit it to the AUPN Executive Office at

To opt out of AUPN emails, contact the AUPN Executive Office at

2016 Association of University Professors of Neurology



5841 Cedar Lake Road, Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416 • USA