Aashit Shah, M.D., appointed interim chair of Department of Neurology at Wayne State University School of Medicine

organizationName   5841 Cedar Lake Rd., Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416
(952) 545-6724

From the President of the AUPN

On October 10th, 2016, Dr. Aashit Shah, professor of Neurology, was appointed interim chair of Department of Neurology at Wayne State University School of Medicine. He replaces Omar Khan, M.D., who died Aug. 13 2016.

Dr. Shah, who has been serving as associate chair of the department since 2013, was overwhelmingly recommended by his colleagues to lead their department at this time.

The Dean of Wayne State, Dr. Jack D. Sobel said, "We are

fortunate to have Dr. Shah to head the department, which is ranked one of the nation’s finest and the top Neurology department in Michigan by U.S. News and World Report, while we conduct a national search for a permanent chair".

Dr. Shah, received his medical degree from the Smt. NHL Municipal Medical College in Ahmedabad, India. Following an internship at Interfaith Medical Center in Brooklyn, N.Y., he joined the Neurology Department at Wayne State University as a resident. Upon completion of fellowship training in Clinical Neurophysiology from the same department, he joined as an assistant professor. Over the years, he has served as program director for the Clinical Neurophysiology Fellowship Program and as Neurology Residency program coordinator. He is a nationally recognized epilepsy expert and is the director of the Wayne State University-Detroit Medical Center Comprehensive Epilepsy Program, the largest comprehensive epilepsy program in Michigan, and jointly heads the epilepsy surgery program.

Dr. Shah is chief of Neurology at Harper University Hospital in Detroit. He has served on the Executive Committee of the School of Medicine Faculty Senate and the Budget Advisory Committee to the Dean.

Dr. Shah has been the recipient of numerous awards, including, “Best Doctor in America,” “Top Docs” and the School of Medicine College Teaching Award. He is a fellow of both the American Academy of Neurology and the American Neurological Association. His primary areas of research and clinical interests are in epilepsy and clinical neurophysiology, including medically refractory epilepsy, surgery for epilepsy, quantitative electrophysiology and EEG monitoring in neurointensive care units. He is actively involved in several clinical trials for epilepsy treatment and has led investigator-initiated studies. He had been co-investigator of multiple National Institutes of Health grants and has worked collaboratively with numerous departments within the School of Medicine and with colleagues in the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, and the College of Engineering.

Dr. Shah has published extensively, with more than 90 peer-reviewed and invited articles in the areas of clinical epilepsy, clinical neurophysiology, quantitative EEG analysis, neurology of pregnancy and neurophysiology of neurocritical care.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Shah.

Karen C. Johnston, MD, MSc
President AUPN 

Don't forget to renew your (institutional) 2017 AUPN membership!

Renew online by logging in to your AUPN account at 

Pay with a check or purchase order by simply printing a copy of the following invoice and return by mail to:

5841 Cedar Lake Road, Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416

If you have questions or require a more detailed or personalized invoice, please contact the AUPN office by email ( or phone (952-545-6724).

The following organizations are seeking to fill the following leadership positions:

Vanderbilt University Medical Center: Chair of Neurology

Carilion Clinic: Chair of Neurology

Saint Louis University: Chair of Neurology

McGovern Medical School: Vice Chair of Clinical Operations

If you have a current job posting you would like listed on the AUPN website, please complete the Job Listing Form and submit it to the AUPN Executive Office at 

To View Current Job Postings, click here

If you have news that you want to share with members of the
Association for University Professors of Neurology, please send it to us at

To opt out of AUPN emails, contact the AUPN Executive Office at 


2017 Association of University Professors of Neurology

5841 Cedar Lake Road, Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416 • USA