Dr. Hess named Interim Dean at Medical College of Georgia/UCNS 2016 Year-End Summary & Update

organizationName   5841 Cedar Lake Rd., Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416
(952) 545-6724

From the President of the AUPN

In January of this year, David Hess, MD, was named interim dean for the Medical College of Georgia. Dr. Hess is a stroke specialist and researcher who has served as chair of the Department of Neurology since 2001.

After graduating from Johns Hopkins University and the University of Maryland School of Medicine, Dr. Hess. completed a neurology residency and cerebrovascular fellowship at MCG. He is board-certified in internal medicine, neurology and vascular neurology.

Dr. Hess co-founded REACH Health Inc., a company that packaged the need for rapid stroke care with the emerging

capabilities of the internet to provide that care remotely. The company received a 2012 Georgia Bio Community Award for its significant contributions to Georgia’s life sciences industry.

Dr. Hess has been named one of America’s Top Doctors for the past 15 years and is the recipient of MCG’s Outstanding Faculty and Exemplary Teaching awards.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Hess.


The United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS) 2016 Year-End Summary & Update is available for review. Please contact Brenda Riggott, UCNS Executive Director at or 612.928.6106 with questions.

Karen C. Johnston, MD, MSc
President AUPN 

The following organizations are seeking to fill the following leadership positions:

Saint Louis University: Chair of Neurology

McGovern Medical School: Vice Chair of Clinical Operations

If you have a current job posting you would like listed on the AUPN website, please complete the Job Listing Form and submit it to the AUPN Executive Office at 

To View Current Job Postings, click here

If you have news that you want to share with members of the
Association for University Professors of Neurology, please send it to us at

To opt out of AUPN emails, contact the AUPN Executive Office at 

2017 Association of University Professors of Neurology



5841 Cedar Lake Road, Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416 • USA