Newly Elected AUPN Council Members/UCNS Headache Medicine Milestones




5841 Cedar Lake Rd., Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416
(952) 545-6724


From the President of the AUPN

AUPN is pleased to announce the following individuals who were unanimously elected 
to serve on the AUPN Executive Council:

Secretary/Treasurer – 4 Year Term:
Steven L. Small, MD, PhD, University of California
Steven L. Small, Ph.D., M.D., is the Stanley van den Noort Professor and Chair of Neurology, and Professor of Neurobiology and Behavior at the University of California, Irvine. He is also Professor Emeritus at The University of Chicago. As a scientist, Dr. Small has been a pioneer in understanding the anatomy and physiology of the human brain and its relation to function by direct investigation of human subjects, particularly in speech and language. This work has encompassed the study of normal adults, typically developing children, and both adults and children with stroke. As departmental chair, Dr. Small has doubled department size and expanded significantly the volume and quality of neurological services for the only academic medical center in Orange County, California, the sixth largest county in the United States.

Councilors – 3 Year Terms:
Louise McCullough, MD, PhD, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Dr. Louise McCullough is a Professor and Chair of the Department of Neurology at McGovern Medical School at the University of Texas Health Science Center and Chief of the Neurology Service at Memorial Hermann Hospital-Texas Medical Center in Houston, TX. She is well recognized for her work in cerebral vascular disease and is known for her research identifying sex differences in cell death pathways during stroke, which are now recognized as major factors in the response to an ischemic insult. Her laboratory also studies aging and inflammation, and how these factors influence recovery after stroke. She has been funded by the National Institute of Health and The American Heart Association for her research and has published over 150 papers. She is certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and has subspecialty board certification in vascular neurology as well as vascular ultrasound. Additionally, Dr. McCullough is a well-respected educator who is passionate about mentoring students and nurturing junior scientists. She is a member of eight professional societies, including the Society for Neuroscience and the American Academy of Neurology. Dr. McCullough has given numerous presentations both nationally and internationally and is the recipient of many honors and awards, including the prestigious Javits Neuroscience Investigator Award from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke.

Kerry Levin, MD, Cleveland Clinic
Dr. Levin serves as chairman of the Department of Neurology and director of the Neuromuscular Center at Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland, OH. He is professor of medicine (neurology) at the Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine of Case Western Reserve University. He currently serves as chairman of the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology. He serves on the editorial boards of Continuum and Muscle and Nerve, and serves on the education and burnout committees of the AAN. Clinical and research interests include electrodiagnosis, polyneuropathy, and myasthenia gravis. He has formerly served as program director for the adult neurology, clinical neurophysiology, and neuromuscular medicine training programs at Cleveland Clinic.

David Standaert, MD, PhD, University of Alabama Birmingham
Dr. Standaert graduated from Harvard College and received M.D. and Ph.D. degrees from Washington University in St. Louis. Following Neurology residency at the University of Pennsylvania, he was appointed a Howard Hughes Fellow and completed a three-year research and clinical fellowship in Movement Disorders at Massachusetts General Hospital. He was a member of the faculty at Harvard Medical School and then relocated to the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB). Currently he is the John N. Whitaker Professor and Chair of the Department of Neurology and directs the Division of Movement Disorders. He is Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board of the American Parkinson Disease Association, a member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Michael J. Fox Foundation, an Associate Editor of the journal Movement Disorders, and a member of the Board of Directors of the American Neurological Association. His laboratory works on understanding both the root causes of Parkinson’s disease as well as the origin of the disabling symptoms that appear after long term treatment of the disease.

Please join me in welcoming Drs. Small, McCullough, Levin, and Standaert to the Council.

United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS)

The United Council for Neurologic Subspecialties (UCNS) invites you to submit comments regarding their milestones, which includes both the common milestones and the Headache Medicine-specific milestones, by May 19, 2017. When providing comments, please indicate the page number and the milestone number to which you are commenting. All comments must be submitted electronically to Comments received after the date above will not be reviewed.

Karen C. Johnston, MD, MSc
President AUPN

The following organizations are seeking to fill the following leadership positions:

McGovern Medical School: Vice Chair of Clinical Operations

Saint Louis University School of Medicine: Sylvia Souers Endowed Chair of Neurology

UT Health San Antonio: Dean and VP of Medical Affairs

If you have a current job posting you would like listed on the AUPN website, please complete the Job Listing Form and submit it to the AUPN Executive Office at 

To View Current Job Postings, click here

If you have news that you want to share with members of the
Association for University Professors of Neurology, please send it to us at

To opt out of AUPN emails, contact the AUPN Executive Office at 

2017 Association of University Professors of Neurology



5841 Cedar Lake Road, Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416 • USA