Dr. Benjamin Segal named Chair of Ohio State; American Headache Society Program Launches REACH; & Info about Hahnemann University Hospital Closure

organizationName   5841 Cedar Lake Rd., Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416
(952) 545-6724

From the President of the AUPN

Following an extensive national search, Dr. Benjamin Segal has been selected as chair of the Department of Neurology at The Ohio State University College of Medicine and co-director of The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center’s Neurological Institute.

Dr. Segal comes to Ohio State from the University of Michigan, where he is the Holtom-Garrett Family Professor of Neurology and director of the Multiple Sclerosis (MS) Center and Program in Neuroimmunology.

Dr. Segal earned his medical degree from Brown University, completed his internship in medicine at the University of Chicago and was recruited to a residency in neurology at the Weill Medical College of Cornell University. He began his academic career at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), where he conducted innovative research in MS and immunology. He was then recruited to the University of Rochester to serve as division director of MS. The University of Michigan — home to one of the nation’s top neurology programs — recruited Dr. Segal to lead its division of MS that is now a national referral center for this disease.

Internationally recognized for his work in MS and neuroimmunology, Dr. Segal has directed a number of industry- and investigator-sponsored clinical trials that focus on individuals with relapsing and progressive forms of MS. With annual NIH funding for his ongoing research programs in excess of $1.3 million, his discoveries have contributed to the basic understanding of MS and similar diseases.

Dr. Segal has shown that the type of inflammation that produces MS can vary among individuals and that pharmaceutical regimens must be personalized for each patient. He publishes his research findings in top-notch academic journals, including The Journal of Clinical InvestigationProceedings of the National Academy of Sciences and The Lancet Neurology.

Dr. Segal has received innumerable awards, lectured nationally and internationally, and served on multiple NIH study sections, including co-chairing the major review panel in his field. He holds several patents and has been recognized as a Taubman Scholar of the A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute. He is a member of every major organization in neurology and, for the past eight years, has been named among the Best Doctors in America.

Click here for additional information

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Segal in his new role.

American Headache Society Program Launches REACH

The American Headache Society has undertaken a long-term commitment to educate neurology residents more extensively about migraine and related headache disorders. In addition to their national Resident Education Program where residents come to their programming, they want to bring an educational initiative locally to your Department of Neurology. The program—Resident Education for Assessment and Care for Headache (REACH)—aims to inspire adult and pediatric neurology residents to receive high-quality education and, potentially, pursue careers in headache medicine so they can  better serve the needs of migraine and headache patients.

REACH will be centered around an innovative half-day curriculum that covers essential concepts in headache medicine. The program includes neurology department-wide Grand Rounds with an expert from AHS and the REACH program. Smaller education modules specific for neurology  residents and customizable for up to a half-day didactic curriculum, as well as online education elements, are available in addition to the Grand Rounds.

Please click here for more information.

Information about Hahnemann University Hospital Closure

Earlier this week, the AAMC sent a notice regarding the closing of Hahnemann University Hospital.

Please click here to read the announcement.

Robin Brey, MD
AUPN President 

The following organizations are seeking to fill the following leadership position(s):



Opt out of AUPN emails

2019 Association of University Professors of Neurology

image widget