New Chair at Dartmouth, Leadership Minutes x2, New Program Friday May 14…

Please join me in welcoming Barbara C. Jobst, MD, PhD, to the AUPN as the recently named Chair of Neurology at Dartmouth-Hitchcock and Dartmouth’s Geisel School of Medicine.  Dr. Jobst completed undergraduate and medical education in her native Germany, before pursuing neurology residency training at Dartmouth, where she was selected as Chief Resident, followed by a fellowship in Epileptology there.  She was then recruited to the Geisel School of Medicine faculty, rising to the rank of Professor and becoming Director of both Clinical Neurophysiology and Epileptology, the Director of the Epilepsy and Cognition Laboratory, and also Section Chief and Vice Chair of Neurology.  She has held many other major leadership roles at Dartmouth, including service on both the Board of Governors and the Board of Trustees.  Her research focuses on memory impairment and enhancement using the techniques of clinical neurophysiology and neuromodulation, as well as on experimental therapeutics in epilepsy.  She is a national leader in both Epileptology and Neurology, and has been recognized with the Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Epilepsy Care from the American Epilepsy Society, and also the 2016 “Transforming Leader” award from the AAN.

We are also pleased to announce our new AUPN Secretary-Treasurer and Executive Councilors. Please join me in congratulating Dr. Lawrence Wechsler (Pennsylvania Hospital) as our new Secretary-Treasurer, and Drs. Laurie Gutmann (Indiana University), Salvador Cruz-Flores (Texas Tech Health Sciences Center), and Claire Henchcliffe (Univ. of California, Irvine), as our new members of the Council.  We also thank our outgoing Secretary-Treasurer Dr. Steve Small (Univ. of Texas, Dallas), and our outgoing Councilors, Drs. Kathleen Shannon (Univ. of Wisconsin) and Larry Goldstein (University of Kentucky) for their great service and contributions to AUPN leadership.

The AUPN Leadership Minute continues to be one of our most popular digital offerings, and in the month of April we launched our first two-part episode, with both parts appearing within the same month.  Episode 2 of Engaging Medical Students (featuring Dr. Douglas Gelb and moderated by Dr. Donald Higgins) is now live, and features a medical students’ view of neurology’s pros and cons. Our May Leadership Minute, What your CEO Wants from You, also dropped this week.  It is moderated by Dr. Mud Alvi and features Albert L. Wright, President and CEO of the West Virginia University Health System, who provides his view of the academic physicians’ role in the clinical enterprise.   

The AUPN Virtual Spring Programs are here! (Register Here, required to attend). This coming Friday, May 14th, we have the AUPN Spring Program: Challenges & Opportunities in Neurology Education in the Virtual Era, from 3 to 5 PM EST.  The program is moderated by Dr. David Standaert, Chair of Neurology at the University of Alabama, Birmingham and features Dr. Kimberly Jones, Dr. Andrew Spector, and Dr. Khurram Bashir and covers the growing impact of virtual learning and considers how we can carry lessons learned forward into a post-COVID era.

Clifton Gooch, MD
AUPN President


Today’s Resource Links

AUPN’s Leadership Minute #8.2: Engaging Medical Students in Neurology 
AUPN's Leadership Minute #9: What Your CEO Wants From You

Past AUPN Leadership Minutes

Upcoming Events

AUPN Virtual Spring Sessions (Free for Members, BUT REGISTRATION REQUIRED)

Spring Chairs Session: Challenges & Opportunities in Neurology Education in the Virtual Era
Friday, May 14, 2pm - 4pm CST / 3pm - 5pm EST
Moderated by Dr. David Standaert with speakers, Dr. Kimberly Jones, Dr. Andrew Spector, Dr. Khurram Bashir, this session cover the impacts of virtual learning and consider how we can carry lessons learned forward into a post-COVID era.

AUPN Summer Virtual Session: A Conversation with Women Leaders in Neurology
Friday, June 11th, 2pm - 4pm CST / 3pm – 5pm EST
Dr. Claudia Lucchinetti is moderating this exciting new program and will be joined by Dr. Laurie Gutmann, Dr. Sara Hocker, Dr. Ann Poncelet, and Dr. Maisha Robinson. This interactive course will feature a diverse panel of women Neurology faculty with a broad range of leadership experience including as chairs of Neurology Divisions and Departments; Deans of Research and Education as well as leaders within national organizations.

Roseville, MN 55113 | Roseville, MN 55113 | 952-545-6724 |
© 2022 Association of University Professors of Neurology. All rights reserved. Articles of Incorporation | Terms of Use

Reset password