Dr. McCullough awarded NINDS Javits Neuroscience Investigator Award/ANA Abstract Submissions




5841 Cedar Lake Rd., Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416
(952) 545-6724


From the President of the AUPN

Louise D. McCullough, MD/PhD, Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Distinguished Chair of Neurology at McGovern Medical School at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) and Chief of Neurology, Memorial Herman Hospital – Texas Medical Center has been awarded the prestigious Javits Neuroscience Investigator Award from the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke.

The Javits Award is a seven-year research grant awarded by the NINDS to scientists for their superior competence and outstanding productivity. Javits awards provide long-term support to investigators with a history of exceptional talent, imagination, and preeminent scientific achievement.  This award will support Dr. McCullough’s ongoing work on the detrimental effects of social isolation on stroke damage and recovery. 

The work selected for funding examines the role of miRNAs that are differentially expressed after post-stroke isolation in aged males and females animals, with a specific focus on mediating the detrimental effects of age-related inflammation. The McCullough laboratory will identify common gene targets and attempt to block or mimic their effects.  Some of the targets already identified differ in males and females.  Hopefully this work will lead to the development of therapeutic targets that will improve functional recovery after ischemic injury. Parallel studies are validating these targets in stroke patients. Dr. McCullough also has received funding for her work in sex differences in stroke and age differences in inflammation. She has been recognized as a “Top Doctor” for the past nine years, and was recently awarded the American Heart Association Research Mentorship Award for her long-history of mentorship and career development of clinical and basic science trainees.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. McCullough.

The American Neurological Association (ANA) is seeking abstract submissions for their upcoming annual meeting, which will be held in San Diego, CA from October 15-17, 2017. Please click here for further details. Submission deadline is April 3, 2017.

Karen C. Johnston, MD, MSc
President AUPN

Don't forget to renew your (institutional) 2017 AUPN membership!

Renew online by logging in to your AUPN account at 

Pay with a check or purchase order by simply printing a copy of the following invoice and return by mail to:

5841 Cedar Lake Road, Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416

If you have questions or require a more detailed or personalized invoice, please contact the AUPN office by email ( or phone (952-545-6724).

The following organizations are seeking department Chairs:

Vanderbilt University Medical Center: Chair of Neurology

Carilion Clinic: Chair of Neurology

Saint Louis University: Chair of Neurology

McGovern Medical School: Vice Chair of Clinical Operations

If you have a current job posting you would like listed on the AUPN website, please complete the Job Listing Form and submit it to the AUPN Executive Office at 

To View Current Job Postings, click here

If you have news that you want to share with members of the
Association for University Professors of Neurology, please send it to us at

To opt out of AUPN emails, contact the AUPN Executive Office at 

2017 Association of University Professors of Neurology



5841 Cedar Lake Road, Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416 • USA