Chetkovich named chair of Department of Neurology at Vanderbilt & TRANSCENDS application due Oct 1st

organizationName   5841 Cedar Lake Rd., Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416
(952) 545-6724

From the President of the AUPN

Dane Chetkovich, M.D., Ph.D., professor of Neurology and Physiology and director of the Medical Scientist Training Program at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine in Chicago, has been named chair of Vanderbilt’s Department of Neurology. He joined the faculty on Sept. 1.

Dr. Chetkovich succeeds Robert Macdonald, M.D., Ph.D., Margaret and John Warner Professor of Neurological Education, who is stepping down after serving as the department’s chair for 16 years. Dr. Macdonald will remain on the faculty and is actively engaged in performing research on genetic epilepsies.

As chair, Dr. Chetkovich will lead a nationally ranked department

housing 16 adult and pediatric clinical divisions, more than 80 faculty, a robust training program with more than 40 residents and fellows, notable programs in sleep disorders, movement disorders, cognitive and behavioral disorders (including memory and Alzheimer’s), epilepsy, neuromuscular disorders, neuro-oncology and a Comprehensive Stroke Center. The department is also a regional leader in teleneurology services for diseases such as stroke.

The Department of Neurology’s services manage more than 3,000 inpatient admissions, and more than 5,000 consultations each year.

Chetkovich practices general neurology and his research focuses on molecular mechanisms that underlie how abnormalities of ion channels in the brain lead to neuropsychiatric disease. In particular, he is interested in developing novel approaches to influence the subcellular targeting of ligand and voltage-gated ion channels, molecules responsible for controlling communication between neurons in the brain.

His current research portfolio includes National Institutes of Health-funded studies of hyperpolarization-activated cyclic nucleotide-gated (HCN) channel trafficking in epilepsy; gene therapy for treating depression; the use of high throughput screening to determine chemical probes for treating depression; and developing a novel peptide therapeutic for treating depression.

At Northwestern he has received several teaching awards including the John A. Kessler Teaching Award in 2016 and Neurology Resident Teaching Award in 2015. He is on the editorial board for Epilepsy Currents and the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology committee responsible for writing the certification exam that is required for neurologists to become board-certified in the United States.

Chetkovich is a graduate of University of Texas, Austin where he earned degrees in zoology and biochemistry, followed by a Ph.D. and an M.D. from Baylor College of Medicine in Houston. He completed an internship at Baylor followed by residency at University of California, San Francisco where he served as chief resident in neurology and completed a postdoctoral fellowship.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Chetkovich.


TRANSCENDS application due Oct 1st

The AAN is collaborating with the Medical University of South Carolina (MUSC) to offer a National Institutes of Health (NIH) R25 grant. TRANSCENDS applications are due Oct 1st.
The TRANSCENDS (Training in Research for Academic Neurologists to Sustain Careers and Enhance the Numbers of Diverse Scholars) Scholar program is funded by the NIH, and administered by MUSC and the AAN. The TRANSCENDS program is designed to increase opportunities to conduct high-­-quality neurologic research and develop a successful academic career.

Please click here to view the TRANSCENDS flyer. 

Application details can be found by clicking here

Karen C. Johnston, MD, MSc
President AUPN 

The following organizations are seeking to fill the following leadership positions:

Augusta University: Chair of Neurology

If you have a current job posting you would like listed on the AUPN website, please complete the Job Listing Form and submit it to the AUPN Executive Office at 

To View Current Job Postings, click here

If you have news that you want to share with members of the
Association for University Professors of Neurology, please send it to us at

To opt out of AUPN emails, contact the AUPN Executive Office at 

2017 Association of University Professors of Neurology



5841 Cedar Lake Road, Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416 • USA