Bruce Ovbiagele, MD, MSc, MAS, MBA, Appointed Associate Dean of the San Francisco VA Healthcare System

organizationName   5841 Cedar Lake Rd., Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416
(952) 545-6724

From the President of the AUPN

Bruce Ovbiagele, MD, MSc, MAS, MBA, has been appointed the new Associate Dean of the San Francisco VA Healthcare System (SFVAHCS), as of August 9, 2018. Dr. Ovbiagele will also assume the role of Chief of Staff at the SFVAHCS. In his Associate Dean role, Dr. Ovbiagele will serve as the liaison between the SFVAHCS and UCSF, to ensure the SFVAHCS remains an excellent site for the teaching of medical students and residents and supports the acquisition of new knowledge through the clinical and basic research done by UCSF faculty.

SFVAHCS has National Centers of Excellence in the areas of Epilepsy Treatment, Cardiac Surgery, Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, HIV, and Renal Dialysis, and is designated as one of only five VA Centers of Excellence in Primary Care Education. SFVAHCS has one of the largest funded research programs in the Veterans Health Administration.

Dr. Ovbiagele recently served as professor and chairman of the Neurology Department at the Medical University of South Carolina. He is a clinical epidemiologist and global health scholar, with a focus on reducing the burden of stroke in the United States and Sub-Saharan Africa.

Dr. Ovbiagele maintains several National Insititutes of Health funded research programs, focused on improving outcomes for those with, or at risk for stroke, including the largest study of stroke in Sub-Saharan Africa, to-date. In 2008, his work was recognized by the American Academy of Neurology with the Michael Pessin Stroke Research Leadership Award.

Dr. Ovbiagele is an elected fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (London), American Academy of Neurology, American Neurological Association, American Heart Association Stroke Council, American Association of Physician Leadership, and European Stroke Organization, as well as an AAMC Council of Deans Fellow. He is also the immediate past chair of the International Stroke Conference, the premier scientific stroke conference in the world, and is a National Spokesperson for the American Stroke Association, interpreting the latest stroke science for medical professionals and the lay public.

Dr. Ovbiagele earned his MD from the University of Lagos, Master of Science in Clinical Research (MSc) from UCLA, Master of Advanced Studies (MAS) from UCSD, MBA from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, and an Executive Certificate in Public Leadership from the John F. Kennedy School of Government at Harvard University.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Ovbiagele in his new role.


Robin Brey, MD
President AUPN 

The following organizations are seeking to fill the following leadership position

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill: Chair for the Department of Neurology

Albany Medical College: Chair, Department of Neurology

If you have a current job posting you would like listed on the AUPN website, please complete the Job Listing Form and submit it to the AUPN Executive Office at 

To View Current Job Postings, click here

If you have news that you want to share with members of the
Association for University Professors of Neurology, please send it to us at

To opt out of AUPN emails, contact the AUPN Executive Office at 

2018 Association of University Professors of Neurology

image widget