2018 AUPN Call for Nominations -- Due February 12




5841 Cedar Lake Rd., Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416
(952) 545-6724

From the AUPN Nomination Committee

Strong leadership is the key component to setting and accomplishing AUPN’s strategic goals and in anticipating future needs. The AUPN Nominating Committee is pleased to invite all AUPN members to nominate individuals (chairs of Neurology) to serve in one open President Elect and one open 2nd Vice President position for a term of two years, and three open councilor positions for a term of three years. These positions start in April 25, 2018.


The Executive Council meets two times per year via conference call and has two in-person meetings each year coinciding with the ANA and AAN’s Annual meetings. The newly elected President Elect, 2nd Vice President and all incoming Councilors are asked to attend the in-person Council meeting on Monday, April 23rd, 2018.

The AUPN President, President Elect and AUPN Executive Office hold monthly 30 minute status calls to discuss the progress of AUPN including upcoming meetings, financial updates, committee updates, and other topics as needed. 

The AUPN President Elect and 2nd Vice President are in charge of overseeing the dues collection process. This includes reaching out to institutions in mid-January asking them to pay dues for the upcoming year. 


Please submit nominations here. Self-nominations are welcomed and encouraged. The nomination period closes February 12.


The AUPN supports departments of Neurology through its educational offerings, including courses for chairs, program directors and clerkship directors, as well as the Combining Clinical and Research Careers in Neuroscience which we co-sponsor with NINDS, ANA, AAN and the CNS. The AUPN also supports networking through its Neurology Chair online forum where you can ask questions and gain insights from other Chairs on important issues related to your academic neurology department. 

We are always looking for ways to better serve the academic neurology community and to find solutions to the challenges academic neurology departments are now facing. Please assist us by submitting your nominations today.


Current Officers:

President (2016-2018):  Karen C. Johnston, MD, University of Virginia

President Elect (2016-2018): Robin L. Brey, MD, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

1st Vice President (2016-2018): David L. Gordon, MD, University of Oklahoma, Health Sciences Center

2nd Vice President (2016-2018): Robert M. Pascuzzi, MD, Indiana University School of Medicine

Secretary/Treasurer (2014-2017): Steven L. Small, MD, PhD, University of California

Past President (2016-2018): David J. Fink, MD, University of Michigan


  • Clifton L. Gooch, MD, FAAN (2014-2018) University of South Florida College of Medicine

  • Robert G. Holloway, MD, MPH (2015-2018) University of Rochester Medical Center School of Medicine & Dentistry

  • Gretchen E. Tietjen, MD (2015-2018) University of Toledo Department of Medicine

  • John Greenfield, Jr., MD, PhD (2014-2019) University of Connecticut School of Medicine

  • Brett Kissela, MD (2016-2019) University of Cincinnati

  • Sanjay Singh, MD (2016-2019) Creighton University School of Medicine

  • Louise McCullough, MD, PhD (2017-2020) University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

  • Kerry Levin, MD (2017-2020) Cleveland Clinic Foundation

  • David Standaert, MD, PhD (2017-2020) University of Alabama at Birmingham

If you have news that you want to share with members of the
Association for University Professors of Neurology, please send it to us at

To opt out of AUPN emails, contact the AUPN Executive Office at 

2018 Association of University Professors of Neurology



5841 Cedar Lake Road, Suite 204
Minneapolis, MN 55416 • USA